This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you agree to our use of cookies. To find out more, see our Privacy and Cookies policy.
Skip to the content

IOP A community website from IOP Publishing

Browse events


Int. Conference "Piezoresponse Force Microscopy and Nanoscale Phenomena in Polar Materials" and Int. Youth Conference "Functional Imaging of Nanomaterials"

About this event

Web site…
1417 Jul 2014
Ekaterinburg, Russian Federation
Ural Federal University
Contact address
51 Lenina ave.
Russian Federation
+7 343 2617436
+7 343 2617436

The joint conference will cover a wide range of topics related to functional imaging of nanomaterials by various techniques including Scanning Probe Microscopy (Piezoresponse Force Microscopy – PFM, Electrochemical Strain Microscopy – ESM, Kelvin Probe Microscopy – KPM), Scanning Electron Microscopy (SEM), Optical Microscopy (Confocal Microscopy – CM, Scanning Near-Field Optical Microscopy – SNOM, Raman Microscopy – RM). The Youth Conference will consist of tutorial session on these methods and scientific conference on nanoscale phenomena in ferroelectrics, ionic conductors, and polar biomaterials.

● Instrumental aspects of PFM, ESM, KPM, SNOM, SEM, CM, RM, and related techniques as applied to functional nanomaterials
● Ferroelectrics, piezoelectrics, and ionic conductors on the nanoscale
● Multiferroic phenomena and magnetoelectric coupling on the nanoscale
● Disordered ferroelectrics, domains, and mesoscopic effects
● Ferroelectric data storage and polarization lithography
● Ferroelectric photovoltaics and tip-enhanced phenomena
● Interface and domain engineering
● Biocompatible & organic polar materials on the nanoscale
● 1D and 2D nanostructured polar materials
● Theory and modeling

Conference Chairs:
Andrei Kholkin (Portugal) & Vladimir Shur (Russia)

International Advisory Board:
Marin Alexe (UK)
Nazanin Bassiri-Gharb (USA)
Dawn Bonnell (USA)
Viktor Bykov (Russia)
Alexei Gruverman (USA)
Jiangyu Li (USA)
Sergei Kalinin (USA)
Andrei Kholkin (Portugal)
Kenji Kitamura (Japan)
Xiaomei Lu (China)
Valanoor Nagarajan (Australia)
Patrycja Paruch (Switzerland)
Roger Proksch (USA)
Nava Setter (Switzerland)
Stephen Streiffer (USA)
Susan Trolier-McKinstry (USA)
Paul Weiss (USA)